Against Bodies (#Poetry)

Today, in-the-world,
I decided to scar my face:
that 1)
it should resonate cruelty – both inside
and out –
and 2)
that I should endure:
in short, a vibrant monster.

To achieve this end
I would take a man –
not just any man, but
the speechless man, a clogged
imbecile for whom words would
ease his violence
exact his soul
make accountable.
To this man, I would give
glass to cut, let him grip
my hair whilst my fingers
clutch
and I would say:
‘Let the truth of the edge
grind firm against the bone.’

It was this, this morning
conditioned my
whole heart,
as I opened my mouth
to speak hatred like art.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

